Reynolds Scholarship Faculty Mentors

Geriatric Research Focus

Call or email one or more of the College of Nursing faculty listed below to explore how your area of research interest might fit within their areas of expertise.

Jo Azzarello, PhD, RN
Diabetes self-management education
Problem solving and learning
Computerized instruction, including cognitive-focused tutors Phone: 405-271-1491, ext 49163
Email: Jo-Azzarello@ouhsc.edu

Lazelle Benefield, PhD, RN, FAAN
Long-distance family caregiving
Technology and care management support for distance caregiving of older adults with cognitive impairment
Phone: 405-271-1491, ext 49117
Email: Lazelle-Benefield@ouhsc.edu

Kathleen Buckwalter
Expert in geriatric mental health, providing community-based care for chronically mentally ill older persons, and cognitively impaired older adults, and their caregivers in both institutional and community settings.
Email: Kathleen-Buckwalter@ouhsc.edu

Melissa Craft, PhD, APRN, CNS, AOCN
Reflection and expressive writing to improve chances of breast cancer reduction and survivorship Storytelling in Native American Women with gynecological cancer
Phone: 405-271-1491, ext 49135
Email: Melissa-Craft@ouhsc.edu

Kathleen Dwyer, PhD, RN
Community-based health maintenance and chronic disease management in vulnerable populations Cancer prevention, screening, survivorship
Cancer supportive care
Phone: 405-271-1491, ext 49223
Email: Kathleen-Dwyer@ouhsc.edu

Barbara Holtzclaw, PhD, RN, FAAN
Symptom management and thermoregulatory responses to illness and therapy
Shivering and thermal balance, thermoregulatory responses of the elderly and vulnerable populations
Phone: 405-271-1491, ext 49172
Email: Barbara-Holtzclaw@ouhsc.edu

Marianne Matzo, PhD, GNP-BC, FPCN, FAAN
Palliative care nursing with a focus on sexual health promotion for people facing the end of their lives Gerontological nursing education
Ethical considerations for end of life care
Phone: 405-271-1491, ext. 49160
Email: Marianne-Matzo@ouhsc.edu

Karen Rose, PhD, RN
Improving the quality of life for persons with Alzheimer’s disease and for their family caregivers. Special research focus on the amelioration of neuropsychiatric behaviors, including sleep disturbances, in an effort to assist caregivers in maintaining their loved one with dementia at home for as long as possible.
Phone: 405-271-1491, ext 49117
Email: Lazelle-Benefield@ouhsc.edu

Janet Wilson, PhD, RN
Intimate partner violence and fatality; violence prevention Mental health
Phone: 405-271-1491, ext 49190
Email: Janet-Wilson@ouhsc.edu

Sooner Nursing: Integrity, Compassion, Excellence