News and Events

Latest News

Nursing Faculty Receive Awards at Oklahoma Nurses Association Conference

Four members of the OU Nursing Faculty & Administration earned honors at the 2014 Oklahoma Nurses Association annual conference for their impact on nursing and the lives of Oklahomans.

Dean Lazelle Benefield, PhD, RN, FAAN earned the Nursing Research Award, given to a nurse who has made a significant impact on nursing practice through the use of research as a basis for practice innovation.

Dr. Gary Loving, PhD, RN, CNE earned the Excellence in Nursing Award, given to a member who has developed a unique and creative approach that utilizes nursing theory and knowledge /skills in his or her practice setting.

Dr. Janet Sullivan-Wilson, PhD, RN, earned the Nursing Impact On Public Policy Award, which honors the nurse whose activities go above and beyond the general nursing community to further the political presence of nursing or accomplish positive public policy for the nursing profession.

Emma Kientz, MS, APRN-CNS, CNE earned the Nightingale Award of Excellence, an award given to an ONA member who has, over the course of his or her career, demonstrated innovative strategies to fulfill role responsibilities, surpassed expectations of the professional nurse, demonstrated a substantial contribution to the ONA and served as a role model of consistent excellence. 

Categories: News
Sooner Nursing: Integrity, Compassion, Excellence