News and Events

Latest News

Dr. Holtzclaw, one of the Honorees named for Health Care Heroes event

Dr. Holtzclaw, one of the Honorees named for Health Care Heroes event

The Journal Record will honor 52 outstanding men and women in the health care industry during its Health Care Heroes event on March 6 at the Embassy Suites Oklahoma City Downtown/Medical Center.

“Our heroes share a common passion for the services they provide and for the life-changing impacts they have on the lives of others,” said Journal Record Editor Russell Ray. “These heroes exemplify what it means to truly care about people, whether they be individuals suffering from a debilitating disease or grieving after a mass tragedy. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating them.”

Honorees will be recognized in seven categories:


Animal Care: Honors an individual from the veterinary field whose treatment of pets and other animals is above and beyond normal care.

First Responder: Honors individuals such as the military, emergency medical technicians, paramedics, firefighters and police for their professional achievement and community involvement in their line of duty.

Nurse: Honors individuals from the nursing field whose performance is considered exemplary by patients and doctors and provides a model of professionalism to peers.

Physician: Honors doctors who work to discover new medicine or practices that can save lives or improve the quality of life for a large number of people. These honorees are also involved in community organizations and outreach programs that focus on improving the community’s health.

Professional: Honors health care workers other than doctors and nurses. Examples include administrators, researchers, technicians and professors.

Volunteer and Volunteer Group: Honors nonpayroll individuals and groups who reach out with time or skills to help patients or health care providers.

Health Care Innovation: Honors innovative projects implemented in Oklahoma in 2018 or 2019 that have improved the health of Oklahomans.

This year’s honorees are:

Adam Asch, M.D., Stephenson Cancer Center; Lt. Miguel Baez, Oklahoma City Fire Department; Justin Beasley, DDS; Justin Beasley, DDS; Clark Bishop, Hutton Pharmacy; Rachel Cameron, APRN-CNP, Trail Creek Wellness; Emily Cooper, RN, BSN, Village Center Pediatrics; Teresa Deck, MS, LPC, Green Shoe Foundation; John Dimmer, APRN-PNP, Oklahoma City Indian Clinic; Godwin Feh, Cohesive Healthcare Management and Consulting; Kim Garrett, Palomar; Beth Goetz, Harold Hamm Diabetes Center; Tim Griffin, Ph.D., Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation; Shirley Harris, Dentists for the Disabled and Elderly in Need of Treatment; Jeff Hirsch, M.D., SSM Health; Barbara Holtzclaw, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, College of Nursing, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center; Douglas Horstmanshof, M.D., Integris Advanced Cardiac Care; Jay Johnson, Duncan Regional Hospital; S. Blake Kelly, M.D., Oklahoma Pain Center; David Kendrick, M.D., MPH, FACP, MyHealth Access Network; Mohammad Faisal Khan, M.D., Arthritis & Rheumatology Center of Oklahoma; J. Peter Kierl, DDS, MS, Kierl Orthodontics; Michelle Kinsey, RN, OU Medical Center Edmond; Monica Kraft, RN, BSN, MSN, Children’s Hospital; Cory Littlepage, Tribal Diagnostics; Jennifer Logsdon, DC, Chickasha Chiropractic Clinic; Hoda Maarouf, M.D., Women’s Preventative Health; Tammy Maschino, M.D., Village Center Pediatrics; Dan McNeill, Ph.D., PA-C, Good Shepherd Ministries of Oklahoma; Bansari Mehta, MHA, Retina Vitreous Center; Brice Minor, Bridge Creek Fire Department; Julie M. Morrow, DO, SSM Health; Christy Olson, MS, RD, LD, CDE, Harold Hamm Diabetes Center; Kendra Orcutt, OTR, SCEM, CAPS, Home Mods; Traci Owen, RN, BSN, Cancer Treatment Centers of America; Paul Mitchell, Paul Mitchell The School Tulsa; James Peck, DDS, Redbud Dental Edmond; JR Polzien, RN, SMN, Wes Watkins Technology Center; Tammy Powell, SSM Health St. Anthony Hospital; Ashley Sale, PA-C, Variety Care; Priya Samant, M.D., Community Health Centers of Oklahoma;  Rick Snyder, Oklahoma Hospital Association; Richie Splitt, Norman Regional Health System; Blake Stanfield, M.D., Integris Family Care North MacArthur; Savannah Stumph, D.O., Mercy Clinic; Dr. Luz Helena Tono, M.D., Sound Physician, St. Anthony Hospital; Mike Vincent, M.D., Northwest Pediatrics and Kinds First Pediatric After Hours Clinic; Susan Ward, Heartland Home Health Care and Hospice; Denise Webber, Stillwater Medical Center; Terri White, Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services commissioner; Julie Wiley, DO, SSM Health; Debbi Willis, PatientLink; Todd Wright, OD, FAAO, Stonebridge EyeCare; and Jeanean Yanish, PhD(c), MA, CFRE, Health Alliance for the Uninsured.


Categories: News
Sooner Nursing: Integrity, Compassion, Excellence